Laws of Cricket 1947 Code - Law 40

Law 40 - Obstructing the Field

Either Batsman is out "Obstructing the field" - If he wilfully obstruct the opposite side; should such wilful obstruction by either Batsman prevent a ball from being caught it is the Striker who is out.

Notes on Law 40

1. The umpire must decide whether the obstruction was "wilful" or not. The involuntary interception by a batsman while running of a throw in is not in itself an offence.

2. The correct entry in the score book when a batsman is given out under this Law is "Obstructing the field", and the bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

Reproduction of the Laws of Cricket is by kind permission of Marylebone Cricket Club

Back to 1947 code index
Back to Laws index